Skip to content

RETAIL REVIEW: AUSTIN’S JM DRYGOODS

November 29, 2012

My month long break has come to an end and I’m excited to share with you all of the things I found along the way of my travels across Louisiana and Texas.  The trip was amazing in so many ways and has really got my mind creatively thinking about my life in 2013.  Changes are ahead and I’ll be excited to share them with you once I put them into motion. In the meantime, I want to share a bit of my travels with you and show you some inspiring moments that I had on my southern tour.

I’m skipping ahead on my trip to share with you an amazing store that I discovered in Austin.  A few designer friends of mine (thanks Jesse Kamm and Jay Jeffers) sent me to all of the best spots in Austin and introduced me to some of the most creative people in town.  On Jesse’s list was Spartan, a really amazing artisanal home goods/gift/accessory store carrying many of my favorite LA designers as well as work from many artisans around the country.  Much of this store reminded me of the aesthetic of my favorite store in Brooklyn, Beautiful Dreamers, that I told you about previously.  LOVE!

While visiting Spartan, I discovered JM Drygoods, a separate store that is attached to Spartan.  I was immediately blown away by the intense colors and textures that owner Michelle Teague had collected from her travels throughout Mexico.  Michelle came to Texas by way of NYC where she was a highly successful costume designer for films.  On a trip to Marfa to check out the art scene, she fell in love and decided to move her family there and start JM Drygoods.  Last year she moved the shop to Austin and created a harmonious marriage with Spartan next door.  The store is almost entirely made up of her amazing finds in Mexico from the many local artisans that she has met there.  The few exceptions to the rule are accessories by Scout & Catalogue , denim by Nashville’s Imogene + Willie, kaftans by NYC’s Two, and candles by LA’s Le Feu De Leau.  Michelle’s collection of goods really blew me away and I literally wanted to live in the store.  The merchandising was inspiring and each hand picked piece she has collected all tell the story of the amazing artisans she has met along the way.

 

While I was visiting with Michelle, she told me she was going to be in Los Angeles December 1st for a Pop Up shop at one of my favorite local shops, Silverlake’s Dream Collective owned by artist Kathryn Bentley. Needless to say, I am super excited to see her again as well as all of her amazing goods right here in LA.  The Pop Up shop opens this Saturday and will remain in the store throughout the month of December.  So for those of you that live here, make sure you stop in to see her stuff as well as visit Dream Collective if you haven’t already.  Dream Collective is known for its selection of handmade goods including some from Mexico such as Beatrice Valenquela’s handmade shoes and Joanna William’s Kneeland Co. Mercado handmade rugs and hanging textiles.  Kindrid spirits for sure!

And next time you visit Austin, make sure you stop into the wonderful world of Spartan and JM Drygoods at 215 South Lamar.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment